Why Us

Welcome to Study in Chongqing China!

  • About
  • Chongqing
  • Jiaotong
  • University

Chongqing Jiaotong University is a distinctive, multi-disciplinary university with a primary focus in transport engineering. In 1951, in response to the call of Chairman Mao to build the road from Ya’an to Lhasa and develop Southwest China, the Southwest Military and Political Commission, led by Liu Bocheng and Deng Xiaoping, founded a school, which was then named Southwest Transportation Technological Academy. In 1960, the School was renamed to Chongqing Institute of Communication by merging with the Civil Engineering Department of Chengdu Technological College, the Metallurgical Department of the Sichuan Metallurgical College, and the Hydraulic Engineering Department of the Wuhan Institute of Water Transportation Engineering in succession. In 2006, it was again renamed Chongqing Jiaotong University. In 2000, the university was transferred from the Ministry of Transport to the Chongqing local government for administration, and now it is under joint administration of the Ministry of Transport and Chongqing Municipality.

The University is gaining better education resources. Currently, it has three campuses: Nan’an, Shuangfu and Daping. Together, they occupy an area of nearly 3,000 Mu in total, over 830,000m2 school buildings, nearly 4.4 million print books and E-books, about 1500 categories of journals and magazines, more than 100 Chinese and foreign language databases, CNY 439 million valued teaching and research equipment,1 national and 6 municipal level experimental teaching demonstration centers.

The University features an array of quality teachers. It today has more than 2000 faculty, including about 1500 full-time teachers, 700 senior titles, and more than 120 people enlisted in the Yangtze Rive Scholar Program, Thousand Talents Program, Ten Thousand Talents Program, Hundred-Thousand-Ten Thousand Talents Program (initiated by Chinese central government), Ten-Hundred-Thousand Talents Program (initiated by the Ministry of Transport), and Bayu Scholars (initiated by Chongqing local government). Additionally, it has employed over 150 distinguished part-time professors including academicians, famous entrepreneurs and engineering masters.

The University is committed to the field of transport engineering. It offers doctoral programs for 4 first-level disciplines of transportation engineering, hydraulic engineering, management science and engineering, civil engineering, and master programs for 16 first-level disciplines including civil and mechanical engineering. It has 3 postdoctoral programs in civil engineering, transportation engineering, and hydraulic engineering. The University today comprises of 19 schools, including the Civil Engineering School, River and Ocean Engineering School, Traffic and Transportation School, etc. It also offers 62 regular undergraduate majors. Three majors of civil engineering, port navigation and coastal engineering, and transportation have been certified by China Engineering Education Accreditation Association; seven majors including water conservancy and hydropower engineering have been included as pilot programs by the Ministry of Education in the “Exemplary Engineer Education Training Program”. Furthermore, it has 15 special majors and 7 specialty disciplines listed in Chongqing’s “Three Specialties Action Plan.

The University goes further to reform in education. It is dedicated to optimizing the coordination mechanism of education and creating a real platform for students to practice and fostering innovation. The University is focusing on Engineering+ education, and exploring new methods by creating "Innovation and Entrepreneur Park", opening several featured pilot classes like "Mao Yisheng Class" and "Overseas Project Management Talent Class". Today, it has 27 thousand full-time students, including 3 thousand graduates and 23thousand undergraduates. Over 150 thousand students graduated from the University. The initial employment rate for undergraduates has exceeded 90% for the last20years. It is also been listed in the first batch of the “Chinese Exemplary University of Employment” and the first batch of the “Chinese Exemplary University of Innovation and Entrepreneur”.
The University has a powerful expertise in technological innovation. Currently, we have 3 national platforms, i.e., the National Engineering Research Center for Inland Waterway Regulation, the National Key Laboratory Nurturing Base for Mountainous Bridge &Tunnel Engineering, and the National-Local Joint Engineering Laboratory for Traffic Civil Engineering Materials, 34 provincial and ministerial-level platforms including Key Laboratory of Bridge-Structure Engineering, Key Laboratory of the Ministry of Education for Water Conservancy and Water Transport Engineering, and Chongqing Key Lab for Traffic System & Safety in Mountain Cities, and more than 20 R&D institutions including Southwest Research Institute of Water Transport Engineering, and the Desert-Soilization Research Institute. A gallery of influential accomplishments in the field of bridges &tunnels, roadbed and pavement, inland waterways, monorails, transportation and logistics earned 12 titles in national science and technology progress awards and national invention awards, and over 300 provincial and ministerial level science and technology awards for the University. We have publications of Applied Mathematics and Mechanics, Journal of Chongqing Jiaotong University (Natural Science Edition and Social Science Edition), etc.

The University tries to advance international exchanges and cooperation. It initiated the Sino-Polish University Consortium under the “Belt and Road Initiative” and is a core member of the Sino Russian Transportation University Alliance. It has established the Confucius Institute in University of Abomey-Calavi, Benin and owns the European Research Center and Benin Research Center approved by the Ministry of Education. Furthermore, it has established ties for exchanges and cooperation with over 50 overseas colleges and universities. The University offers undergraduate program for International Chinese Language Education and five English-instruction majors. It is a university authorized by "Chinese Government Scholarship", absorbing international students from all over the world.

Looking forward to the future, the University will always follow the motto of “Virtues in Mind & Transport Worldwide”, and the tradition of "Paving Stone Spirit". We will aim to establish an internationally renowned distinctive university with a primary focus on engineering, coordinating development of multiple disciplines, and making contributions to the transportation industry, the local economy, and social development.

Add: No.66 Xuefu Rd., Nan’an Dist., Chongqing 400074, China
Tel: +86-23-62652670  62652335
Fax: +86-23-62652335
E-mail:waiban@cqjtu.edu.cn  waiban@vip.163.com
Website: www.cqjtu.edu.cn